Lacoste Spotlight Award Recipient and Academy Award Nominee Amy Adams

Bill Hader and Distinguished Collaborator Honoree Judd Apatow

2014 Career Achievement Honoree April Ferry

Academy Award Nominee Jonah Hill

Actors James Wolk and Kiernan Shipka

Winner, Excellence in Commercial Costume Design - Nancy Steiner (Call of Duty: Ghosts Masked Warriors)

Actor Jeremy Renner and Costume Designer Michael Wilkinson

Winner, Excellence in Fantasy Film - Trish Summerville (Hunger Games: Catching Fire)

Costume Designer Lyn Paolo

Costume Designer Lou Eyrich

Actress Raquel Welch


March 2014

By Alex Lippin

From the moment that guests started arriving at The Beverly Hilton Hotel on Saturday night, there was an electric, energetic buzz in the air. From the red carpet to the cocktail reception, which featured the work of seven FIDM costume design students, to the dinner and gala, which was filled with smiles and laughter, everyone was excited for the celebration and looking forward to toasting the nominees, honorees and winners of the 16th Costume Designers Guild Awards.

The Awards Gala was hosted by actor Joshua Malina, known for his roles in “The West Wing” and “Scandal,” who kicked off the evening with a laugh: introducing himself and then listing his measurements. Presenters also included Kerry Washington, Tony Goldwyn, Olivia Munn, Tony Hale, Mindy Kaling (who wore a dress designed by Salvador Perez), Ike Barinholtz, Kiernan Shipka, James Wolk, Kathleen Robertson, Geoff Stults, Elisabeth Röhm, Raquel Welch, Steve Coogan, J. August Richards, June Squibb and Will Forte.

Throughout the evening, competitive awards for excellence in costume design were handed out in seven categories for film, television and commercial work. The winners are listed below:

Blue Jasmine – Suzy Benzinger

12 Years a Slave – Patricia Norris


The Hunger Games: Catching FireTrish Summerville

House of Cards – Tom Broecker


Downton Abbey – Caroline McCall

Behind the Candelabra – Ellen Mirojnick


Call of Duty: Ghosts Masked Warriors – Nancy Steiner

Four honorary awards also were presented at the Awards Gala.

The Distinguished Collaborator Award was presented by Bill Hader and Jonah Hill to acclaimed writer, producer and director Judd Apatow in recognition of his support of Costume Design and creative partnerships with Costume Designers. Apatow acknowledged the many costume designers with whom he has worked and closed by thanking them for their hard work and, “for making us look good and making these characters come alive.”

Actors Debra Winger and Ciarán Hinds presented Emmy Award-winning Costume Designer April Ferry with this year’s Honorary Career Achievement Award for her outstanding work in film and television. Hinds had the audience laughing when she told a story about Ferry’s work on the series Rome. “Just for the record, in the month of March 2005 in the city of Rome, April Ferry managed to get an Irish actor playing Julius Caesar into a toga on St. Patrick’s Day, that’s how good she is,” said Hinds.

The 2014 Costume Designers Guild Distinguished Service Award was presented to Sharon Day, a longtime member of the Costume Designers Guild Local 892, for her dedication and tireless efforts on behalf of the Guild. Her heartfelt speech, in which she stated, “from the early days of film until now, the IATSE is our protector and our home base. For this, we are all grateful,” really resonated with the Guild members in the audience.

The evening culminated with the LACOSTE Spotlight Award, which was presented to five-time Academy Award nominee Amy Adams. “American Hustle” Costume Designer Michael Wilkinson said a few words about Adams before a video montage of her films began to play. Jeremy Renner, her co-star in “American Hustle,” presented Adams with the “crystal croc.” In her acceptance speech, Adams, who wore a gorgeous blue green long sleeve gown with floral embroidery and an open back from Frocktalk by Kristin Burke, first expressed what a privilege it has been to have the opportunity to work with so many wonderful costume designers throughout her career. She then went on to share what she “had learned from everybody in the 892 and 705,” such as the actual start date of a film, not to lie about her measurements, the actors’ call times versus that of the crew, and that “costume is an art and [Costume Designers] are artists.”

Additional celebrity attendees included: Scott Foley, Columbus Short, Bellamy Young, Darby Stanchfeld, Katie Lowes, Dan Bukatinsky, Jeff Perry, Guillermo Díaz, Amandla Stenberg, Kim Tillman, Angelique Cabral, Meredith Monroe, Jacqueline Mazarella and Parker Young.

To view more photos from the evening, visit us on Facebook.

CDG President Salvador Perez Jr. and actress Mindy Kaling.

Distinguished Service Award Recipient Sharon Day

Actress Olivia Munn

We’ll be back soon!

Sorry for the inconvenience but we’re performing some maintenance at the moment. If you need to you can always contact us, otherwise we’ll be back online soon!

— Member Services

We’ll be back soon!

This option is not available. Sorry for the inconvenience but we’re performing some maintenance at the moment. If you need to you can always contact us, otherwise we’ll be back online soon!

— Member Services