BTL_CDGA_Logo_Black_Article Page

Photo Credit: Rachel Hudgins


CDGA Gala to Take Place on Tuesday, February 23, 2016

LOS ANGELES—November 19, 2015—The star-studded 18th Costume Designers Guild Awards with Presenting Sponsor LACOSTE will take place on Tuesday, February 23, 2016 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Acclaimed film director, screenwriter, producer and actor Quentin Tarantino, and veteran Costume Designer Ellen Mirojnick, will receive honorary awards.

Quentin Tarantino will receive the Distinguished Collaborator Award in recognition of his creative partnerships with Costume Designers. Most recently, Tarantino wrote and directed “The Hateful Eight,” starring Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell, Jennifer Jason Leigh, and Bruce Dern. In “The Hateful Eight,” several years after the end of the Civil War, a band of strangers seek refuge from a blizzard in a mountainside stopover, and discover that hidden allegiances and dangerous motives threaten their survival. The Weinstein Company will release “The Hateful Eight” in a glorious 70mm roadshow on December 25, with a wide theatrical release set for January 8, 2016.

Tarantino’s list of film credits include “Reservoir Dogs,” “Pulp Fiction,” (which earned him an Academy Award® for Best Screenplay), “Jackie Brown,” “Kill Bill: Vol. 1,” “Kill Bill: Vol. 2,” “Grindhouse: Death Proof,” “Inglourious Basterds” (which earned him an Academy Award® nomination for Best Achievement in Directing and Best Original Screenplay) and “Django Unchained” (which earned him a second Academy Award® for Best Original Screenplay).

“The Hateful Eight“ actor Kurt Russell, who also starred in Tarantino’s “Grindhouse: Death Proof,” will present him with the award.

Ellen Mirojnick is this year’s recipient of the Career Achievement Award, an honor that recognizes her expansive body of work in film and television. Mirojnick’s early interests in fine art, photography and fashion led her to the prestigious High School of Music and Art, The School of Visual Arts and Parsons School of Design. Her education and passion for design laid the foundation for her career in Costume Design, which has spanned over three decades. Mirojnick’s work in contemporary design has had a significant impact on motion picture and television style. Mirojnick has exhibited a sophisticated, timeless approach to modern storytelling and has contributed to the creation of iconic characters that have become cultural references, such as the powerful Gordon Gekko from “Wall Street.”

Mirojnick won a Primetime Emmy® and Costume Designers Guild Award (CDGA) for her work on HBO’s “Behind the Candelabra.” She received a CDGA nomination for the first season of Cinemax’s “The Knick,” starring Clive Owen. Her work with Steven Soderbergh continues into the second season of “The Knick.” Mirojnick is currently working with Director Angelina Jolie Pitt on her next feature film.

Her notable film credits include “Fatal Attraction,” “Basic Instinct,” “Chaplin,” “Showgirls,” “Speed,” “Cocktail,” “Unfaithful,” “Face/Off” and “What Women Want.” Additionally, she designed the costumes for the pilot of “How to Get Away with Murder.”

The CDGA has become a marquee event of the Hollywood awards season, notable for its lively, fun, warm and engaging celebration of Costume Designers and their essential contribution to film and television. The awards presentation will honor the work of Costume Designers in seven categories, including contemporary, period and fantasy film and television.

Find the Costume Designers Guild Awards on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram and use #CDGA18.

The Costume Designers Guild, IATSE local 892, is a proud member of the international alliance of theatrical stage employees. In addition to our union services, we promote the artistry, technical expertise, and creative vision of our members who design authentic fictional characters with accuracy and integrity. The Guild’s membership includes over 900 costume designers and illustrators working in motion pictures, television, commercials, music videos, and new media programs throughout the world.

The 18th Costume Designers Guild Awards will be produced by JumpLine, with Executive Producer JL Pomeroy, Supervising Producer Sarah Cowperthwaite, and Producer Demetra Stavrakas.

For more information about the awards, visit

For updates and live tweeting during the show @CostumeAwards


We’ll be back soon!

Sorry for the inconvenience but we’re performing some maintenance at the moment. If you need to you can always contact us, otherwise we’ll be back online soon!

— Member Services

We’ll be back soon!

This option is not available. Sorry for the inconvenience but we’re performing some maintenance at the moment. If you need to you can always contact us, otherwise we’ll be back online soon!

— Member Services