Annual Ceremony to Be Held on February 19, 2019 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel

LOS ANGELES, CA (January 10, 2019) – Nominees were announced today for the 21st CDGA (Costume Designers Guild Awards) celebrating excellence in film, television, and short-form Costume Design. Executive Produced by JumpLine and sponsored by Westfield and Campari®, winners will be announced at the ceremony which will take place on Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The evening’s host and additional honorees, including the Distinguished Service and Spotlight awards, will be announced in the coming weeks. The CDGA previously announced that the Career Achievement and Distinguished Collaborator honors would go to Ruth E. Carter and Ryan Murphy.

“I would like to congratulate all of the nominees of the 2019 Costume Designers Guild Awards. This year, we are especially thrilled to include the nominees for our brand-new Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television category. We look forward to celebrating the art of Costume Design and our honorees at our awards gala on February 19, 2019,” said Salvador Perez, President of the Costume Designers Guild Local #892.

2019 Final Nominee List


Excellence in Contemporary Film

A Star Is Born – Erin Benach
Crazy Rich Asians – Mary E. Vogt
Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again – Michele Clapton
Red Sparrow – Trish Summerville
Ocean’s 8 – Sarah Edwards
Widows – Jenny Eagan

Excellence in Period Film

BlacKkKlansman – Marci Rodgers
Bohemian Rhapsody – Julian Day
The Favourite – Sandy Powell
Mary Poppins Returns – Sandy Powell
Mary Queen of Scots – Alexandra Byrne

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

Aquaman – Kym Barrett
The Avengers: Infinity War – Judianna Makovsky
Black Panther – Ruth E. Carter
The Nutcracker and the Four Realms – Jenny Beavan
A Wrinkle in Time – Paco Delgado

Excellence in Contemporary Television

The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story – Lou Eyrich & Allison Leach
Grace and Frankie – Allyson B. Fanger
The Romanoffs – Janie Bryant & Wendy Chuck
Sharp Objects – Alix Friedberg
This Is Us – Hala Bahmet

Excellence in Period Television

The Alienist – Michael Kaplan
GLOW – Beth Morgan
The Man in the High Castle – Catherine Adair
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Donna Zakowska
Outlander – Nina Ayres & Terry Dresbach

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

A Series of Unfortunate Events – Cynthia Summers
American Horror Story: Apocalypse – Paula Bradley & Lou Eyric
The Handmaid’s Tale – Ane Crabtree
Star Trek: Discovery – Gersha Phillips
Westworld – Sharen Davis

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert – Paul Tazewell
The Late Late Show with James Corden – Lauren Shapiro
RuPaul’s Drag Race – Zaldy Goco (for RuPaul)
Saturday Night Live – Tom Broecker & Eric Justian
So You Think You Can Dance – Marina Toybina


Excellence in Short Form Design

Adidas: “See My Creativity”, commercial – Bonnie Stauch
For 21st CDGA ticket and sponsorship information, please visit:



The Costume Designers Guild, IATSE local 892, is a union formed for the promotion and protection of the art of costume design. Members, including costume designers, assistant costume designers, and illustrators, use their artistry and technical expertise to create believable characters within the narratives of motion pictures, television, commercials, music videos, and new media. Over 1,000 members strong, the CDG is a proud affiliate of the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees. Find them on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter: @CDGlocal892.


JumpLine Group: The intersection of live production and original content. JumpLine specializes in high-touch events and premium lifestyle brand activations. Its content division, BehindTheLine develops film, television, and digital content, and produced the feature-length documentary about Saturday Night Live, Live From New York!. 


Find the CDGA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram and use #CDGA. For updates and live tweeting during the show @CostumeAwards.


Brian Rubin / Pipere Boggio

For more information about the awards visit:

NOTE: Please do not abbreviate “costume designer” by using “costumer.”
These are two different union locals, referring to completely different job descriptions.
If it is necessary to abbreviate “costume designer” for space, please use “designer.”


We’ll be back soon!

Sorry for the inconvenience but we’re performing some maintenance at the moment. If you need to you can always contact us, otherwise we’ll be back online soon!

— Member Services

We’ll be back soon!

This option is not available. Sorry for the inconvenience but we’re performing some maintenance at the moment. If you need to you can always contact us, otherwise we’ll be back online soon!

— Member Services